Local Brain Bees

This year, there will over seventy Local Brain Bee competitions held all over the world, and new local chapters of our program open up all the time. If you are a high school student or teacher looking to learn more information about the Local Bee closest to you, feel free to contact any of the Local Bee coordinators listed below! If you would like more information on how to start your own brain bee, please visit this webpage.

You can also use the links at the bottom of this page to find out more about the National Brain Bees around the world and the International Brain Bee Championship.

Local Brain Bees in Argentina
National Coordinator: Dr. Cecilia Bouzat (inbouzat@criba.edu.ar)

 

Local Brain Bees in Australia
National Coordinator: Linda Richards (richards@uq.edu.au)

Location

Sponsor

Coordinator

Contact  Information

Queensland Chapter

The University of Queensland and the
Queensland Brain Institute

Linda Richards
Rhonda Lyons

richards@uq.edu.au
abbc@uq.edu.au

New South Wales

University of Western Sidney

Vaughan Macefield

v.macefield@uws.edu.au

Australian Capitol Terr

Australian National University

 Keely Bumsted-O'Brien
Madeleine Nicol 

keely.bumsted-obrien@anu.edu.au
madeleine.nicol@anu.edu.aiu

Victoria Chapter

University of Melbourne Murdoch
Children's Research Hospital

Heather Young

h.young@unimelb.edu.au

Western Australia

University of Western Australia

Jennifer Roger

jrodger@cyllene.uwa.edu.au

South Australia

University of Adelaide

Paul Thomas

 paul.thomas@adelaide.edu.au

Hobart

University of Tasmania

Robert Gasperini

robert.gasperini@utas.edu.au

Local Brain Bees in Bangladesh
National Coordinator:Muhammad Shahdaat Bin Sayeed (shahdaat.pharm@uap-bd.edu)


Local Brain Bees in Belgium
National Coordinator:Julie Maetens (jmaetens@ulb.ac.be)
Local Brain Bees in Cameroon
National Coordinator: Elisabeth Ngo Bum (eli_bum@yahoo.fr)

Local Brain Bees in Canada
National Coordinator: Judy Shedden (shedden@mcmaster.ca)

Location

Sponsor

Coordinator

Contact Information

Calgary, Alberta

Hotchkiss Brain Intitute

Lisa Fleece

hbi@ucalgary.ca

Calgary, Alberta

University of Calgary

Jaideep Bains

jsbains@ucalgary.ca

Edmonton, Alberta

University of Alberta

Jena Dressler

jdressle@ualberta.ca

St. John's, Newfoundland

Memorial University
of Newfoundland

John Mclean

mclean@mun.ca

Halifax, Nova Scotia

Dalhousie University

Rob Brownstone

rob.brownstone@dal.ca

Hamilton, Ontario

McMaster University

Judith M Shedden

shedden@mcmaster.ca

Kingston, Ontario

Queens University

Kelly Moore

kmm@post.queensu.ca

London, Ontario

 University of Western Ontario

Marvin Chum

mchum2010@meds.uwo.ca

Ottawa, Ontario

University of Ottawa

Ruth Slack

ruth.slack@uottawa.ca

Toronto, Ontario

University of Toronto

Jonathon Dostrovsky

  j.dostrovsky@utoronto.ca 

Montreal, Quebec

McGill University

Audry Laferriere

 audrey.c.laferriere@mail.mcgill.ca

Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

University of Saskatchewan

 Sarah Ridgley-MacDonald 

sar906@mail.usask.ca


Local Brain Bees in China
National Coordinator: Judith Chilton (judith_chilton@aishk.edu.hk)

  Location 

Sponsor

 Coordinator  

   Contact Information  

 Hong Kong 

Australian International School in Hong Kong 

 Judith Chilton

  judith_chilton@aishk.edu.hk 



Local Brain Bees in Egypt
National Coordinator: Wael Mohamed Yousef (waelpharma@yahoo.co.uk)

  Location 

Sponsor

 Coordinator  

   Contact Information  

 Menoufiya 

University of Menoufiya

 Wael Mohamed Yousef 

  waelpharma@yahoo.co.uk



Local Brain Bees in Germany
National Coordinator: Claudia Gorr (gorr@turmdersinne.de)

  Location 

Sponsor

 Coordinator  

   Contact Information  

 Heidelberg

 University of Heidelberg

Julianne R Mccall

  McCall@stud.uni-heidelberg.de


Local Brain Bees in Georgia
National Coordinator: Merab Tsagareli (gena@geo.net.ge)

  Location 

Sponsor

 Coordinator  

   Contact Information  

 Tbilisi

 Beritashvili Institute of Physiology 

 Merab Tsagareli 

  gena@geo.net.ge


Local Brain Bees in Ghana
National Coordinator: Merab Tsagareli (gena@geo.net.ge)

  Location 

Sponsor

 Coordinator  

   Contact Information  

 Accra Korle-bu 

 University of Ghana Medical School 

 Kwame Orori

  kroai@yahoo.com


Local Brain Bees in Grenada
National Coordinator: Francis Fakoya (ffakoya@sgu.edu)

  Location 

Sponsor

 Coordinator  

   Contact Information  

   Tanteen,
St. Georges

 Grenada Boys Secondary School

Fracis Fakoya

   ffakoya@sgu.edu

 Grenville,
St. Andres

Grenville Secondary School

Fracis Fakoya

ffakoya@sgu.edu

Satuers,
St. Patricks
MacDonald College

Fracis Fakoya

ffakoya@sgu.edu
Church Hill,
St. Georges
St. Joseph's Convent

Fracis Fakoya

ffakoya@sgu.edu  


Local Brain Bees in India
National Coordinator: RMV Ravindranadh RV (ravirmv@gmail.com)

Location

Sponsor

Coordinator

    Contact Information    

Bangalore

Aptuit Laurus

Sobhana Raghavan

shobana18@gmail.com

  Chandigharh 

 Suven Health Sciences 

Dheraj Khurana

dherajk@yahoo.com

Chennai

Shasun

Shasun Jain College

info@shasuncollege.org

Culcutta

Cipra Labs

Sindhura RMV

sindhurarmv@yahoo.com

Pune

Emcure

Emcure

corporate@emcure.co.in

Hyderabad

Natcu Trust

J Sham Tilak

 natadmin@natcopharma.co.in

Mumbai

Hetero

Sushma RM

sushrm@gmail.com



Local Brain Bees in Italy
National Coordinator: P. Paolo Battaglini (battagli@units.it)

  Location 

Sponsor

 Coordinator  

   Contact Information  

 Trieste

University of Trieste

P. Paolo Battaglini

battagli@units.it


Local Brain Bees in Kenya
National Coordinator: Nchafatso Gikenyi Obonyo (gnchafatso@yahoo.com)

  Location 

Sponsor

 Coordinator  

   Contact Information  

 Nairobi City

 University of Nairobi  

Hussein Dossajee

   husseindossajee@yahoo.com 


Local Brain Bees in Korea
National Coordinator: Seong-Whan Lee (sw.lee@korea.ac.kr)

Location

Coordinator

Contact  Information

Seoul

Jong-Hwan LEE

 jonghwan_lee@korea.ac.kr

 Kwangju 

 Sang-Woong LEE

swlee@chosun.ac.kr

Daejeon

Jong Chul YE

jong.ye@kaist.ac.kr

Suwon

Minah SUH

minahsun@skku.edu

Pohang

Seungjin CHOI

seungjin@postech.ac.kr

Local Brain Bees in Lituania 
National Coordinator: Corrie Jankeviciene (corrie@novavita.lt)


Local Brain Bees in Malaysia
National Coordinator: Jafri Malin Abdullah (brainsciences@gmail.com)

  Location 

Sponsor

 Coordinator  

   Contact Information  

Sabah

 University of Malaysia 

Dilip Murthy

   dilipmurthy2000@yahoo.com 


Local Brain Bees in Mexico
National Coordinator: Eric Murillo-Rodriguez (eric.murillo@unimayab.edu.mx)

  Location 

Sponsor

 Coordinator  

   Contact Information  

   Queretaro 

 Institute of Neurobiology

Pilar Duran

  pilis@servidor.unam.mx

 Guadalajara 

 University of Guadalajara

 Silvia osefina Lopez-Perez 

sjlopez@cucba.udg.mx

CampecheUniversity of Campeche
(South-Southeast)

Oscar Hernandez

 ohhernan@mail.uacam.mx

Local Brain Bees in New Zealand
National Coordinator: Louise Nicholson (lfb.nicholson@auckland.ac.nz)

  Location 

Sponsor

 Coordinator  

   Contact Information  

   Auckland

 University of Auckland

 Louise Nicholson 

  lfb.nicholson@auckland.ac.nz 

 Dundedin

 University of Otago

J. Greg Anson

greg.anson@otago.ac.nz


Local Brain Bees in Nigeria
National Coordinator: Polycarp Nwoha (polycarpu@yahoo.com)

Location

Coordinator

Contact  Information

Enugu Zone

Ijeoma Obiajunwa


Ibadan Zone

Joseph Alimasunya

Ife Zone

Josephine Uzor Agu


Lagos Zone

 Ngozi Melody David

Owerri Zone

TBD

 Port Harcourt Zone 

Nkeriu Maduagwu


Umuahia,
Abia State

Mokutima Eluwa

mokamaeluwa@yahoo.com


Local Brain Bees in Puerto Rico
 National Coordinator: TBD
 

  Location 

Sponsor

 Coordinator  

   Contact Information  

San Juan

 Puerot Rico Chapter of SFN 

Carmen Maldonado
Jorge Miranda

cmalclar@caribe.net
jdmiranda@rcm.upr.edu 


Local Brain Bees in Poland
National Coordinator: Elzbieta Malgorzata Pyza (elzbieta.pyza@uj.edu.pl)

  Location 

Sponsor

 Coordinator  

   Contact Information  

Krakow

 Polish Copernicus Soceity of Natural Scientists 

 Elzbieta Malgorzata Pyza

   elzbieta.pyza@uj.edu.pl 


Local Brain Bees in Portugal
National Coordinator: Claudia Pereira (cpereira@cnc.cj.uc.pt)

  Location 

Sponsor

 Coordinator  

   Contact Information  

Coimbra

 University of Coimbra 

Claudia M F Pereira
Joao Malva

  cpereira@cnc.cj.uc.pt
  jomalva@fmed.uc.pt


Local Brain Bees in Romania
National Coordinator: Cristian Gurzu (cristian2001@yahoo.com)

 

Local Brain Bees in Scotland
National Coordinator: Janice Barr (janice.barr@roslin.ed.ac.uk)
 

 

Local Brain Bees in South Africa
National Coordinator: Ruth McBride (mcbride@uwc.ac.za)

 

Local Brain Bees in Spain
National Coordinator: Carlos Belmonte (carlos.belmonte@umh.es)

 

Local Brain Bees in Switzerland
National Coordinator: Ann Kato & Ruth Luthi-Carter (ann.kato@medicine.unige.ch;ruth.luthi-carter@epfl.ch)

  Location 

Sponsor

 Coordinator  

   Contact Information  

 Geneva 

 Department of
Fundamental Neuroscience CMU 

 Ann Kato

  ann.kato@medecine.unige.ch 

 Lauanne 

Swiss Federal Institute of Technology

 Ruth Luthi-Carter 

ruth.luthi-carter@epfl.ch

 

Local Brain Bees in Turkey
National Coordinator: Ferhan Esen (fesen@ogo.edu.tr)

  

Local Brain Bees in Uganda
National Coordinator: Sekabira Wilson (wsekabira@med.mak.ac.ug)
 

 

Local Brain Bees in the United States
National Coordiator: Norbert Myslinski (nmyslinski@umaryland.edu)

  Click Here for the list of local coordinators in United States


 

Local Brain Bees in Venezuela
National Coordinator: Gladys Maestre (gladysmaestre@gmail.com)

 

Local Brain Bees in Wales
National Coordinator: Dr. Vanessa Davies (daviesvj@cardiff.ac.uk)




National Brain Bees 
In countries where only one Local Brain Bee will be held, that Bee will serve as the National Competition.



The International Brain Bee Championship
Contact Dr. Norbert Myslinski ~ nmyslinski@umaryland.edu ~ for more information